Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.

STATE NAME Karnataka
DISCOM DESCRIPTION In the first step the erstwhile Karnataka Electricity Board, which was responsible for Power Transmission and Distribution in the state of Karnataka was corporatised into Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited w.e.f. 1.8.1999. Subsequently, Transmission and Distribution functions of KPTCL were separated. KPTCL remained as a Transmission Company. Distribution of power was entrusted to Four regional Distribution Companies w.e.f. 1.6.2002 viz., BESCOM, HESCOM, MESCOM & GESCOM. One more Distribution Company was formed in Mysore w.e.f. 1.4.2005 by bifurcating the jurisdiction of Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd., BESCOM, has been entrusted with Distribution of Power in the Districts of Bangalore Urban/Rural, Kolar, Tumkur, Ramanagar, Chikkaballapura, Chitradurga and Davanagere Districts.
ABOUT DISCOM BESCOM – Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Limited is responsible for power distribution in Eight districts of Karnataka. BESCOM covers an area of 41,092 Sq. Kms. with a population of over 207 lakhs.The company has 3 operating zones – Bangalore Metropolitan Area Zone, Bangalore Rural Area Zone and Chitradurga Zone.In the year 1999, Karnataka embarked on a major reform of the power sector. As a first step, Karnataka Electricity Board (KEB) was dissolved and in its place, the Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited (KPTCL) was incorporated.This was followed by the constitution of Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission (KERC) in November 1999.In the next phase of the reform process, the transmission and distribution business managed by KPTCL were unbundled in June 2002. Four new distribution companies were formed to distribute power in Karnataka.Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Limited (BESCOM) has taken over the responsibility from KPTCL for the distribution of electricity in 8 districts and commenced its operations from 1st June 2002.The generating capacity of the Shivasamudram Power House gradually increased to 42 MW in stages. To meet the increasing demand for power, the Shimsha Generating Station, with an installed capacity of 17.2 MW, was commissioned in the year 1940. The power demand was ever on the increase, for industries and rural electrification, and additions to generating capacity became imperative. The 1st Stage of 48 MW and 2nd stage of 72 MW of the Mahatma Gandhi Hydroelectric Station were commissioned during 1948 and 1965, respectively.The State of Karnataka, with availability of cheap electric power, and other infrastructure facilities, was conducive for increased tempo of industrial activity. It became necessary to augment the power-generating capacity by harnessing the entire potential of the Sharavathi Valley. The first unit of 89.1 MW was commissioned in 1964 and completed in 1977.
23rd Main,
27th Cross,
Banashankari Stage II,
Karnataka 560070,
ERC NAME Karntaka Electricity Regulatory Commission

Other Discoms Belonging To Karnataka

Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (MESCOM)
Hubli Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (HESCOM)
Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (GESCOM)
Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation Ltd.    (CESCOM)