Hubli Electricity Supply Company Ltd.

STATE NAME Karnataka
DISCOM DESCRIPTION In the first step the erstwhile Karnataka Electricity Board, which was responsible for Power Transmission and Distribution in the state of Karnataka was corporatised into Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited w.e.f. 1.8.1999. Subsequently, Transmission and Distribution functions of KPTCL were separated. KPTCL remained as a Transmission Company. Distribution of power was entrusted to Four regional Distribution Companies w.e.f. 1.6.2002 viz., BESCOM, HESCOM, MESCOM & GESCOM. One more Distribution Company was formed in Mysore w.e.f. 1.4.2005 by bifurcating the jurisdiction of Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd., BESCOM, has been entrusted with Distribution of Power in the Districts of averi, Uttara Kannada, Dharwad, Gadag, Belgaum, Bagalkot and Bijapur.
ABOUT DISCOM The Government of Karnataka as part of reforms in power sector has unbundled the transmission and distribution activities in the state of Karnataka. As a result, the HESCOM Limited was incorporated on 30.04.2002 under the Companies Act, 1956 (No. 1 of 1956) and the company started operation w.e.f. 01.06.2002.The Company came into existence with geographical jurisdiction of 7 Districts comprising of Dharwad, Belgaum, Gadag, Haveri,Uttar Kannada, Bagalkot & Bijapur with an objective to carry on the business of distribution and supply of electricity more efficiently and economically.The Company is operating from Hubli City and covering the areas where the agricultural consumption is comparatively on higher side.The Company has withstood the initial transitional problems and achieved its objective of improving efficiency and better consumer services. The Company today is functioning as a commercial entity in pursuance of power sector reforms undertaken by Government of Karnataka. The mission of the HESCOM is to ensure reliable quality power to its customers at competitive prices.
HUBLI-580025 ,
Phone : 0836-2322771,
Fax : 0836-2324307,
ERC NAME Karntaka Electricity Regulatory Commission

Other Discoms Belonging To Karnataka

Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (BESCOM)
Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (MESCOM)
Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (GESCOM)
Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation Ltd.    (CESCOM)