Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation Ltd.

STATE NAME Karnataka
DISCOM DESCRIPTION In the first step the erstwhile Karnataka Electricity Board, which was responsible for Power Transmission and Distribution in the state of Karnataka was corporatised into Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited w.e.f. 1.8.1999. Subsequently, Transmission and Distribution functions of KPTCL were separated. KPTCL remained as a Transmission Company. Distribution of power was entrusted to Four regional Distribution Companies w.e.f. 1.6.2002 viz., BESCOM, HESCOM, MESCOM & GESCOM. One more Distribution Company Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation Limited (CESC)was formed in Mysore w.e.f. 1.4.2005 by bifurcating the jurisdiction of Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd., BESCOM, has been entrusted with Distribution of Power in the Districts of Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Mandya, Hassan and Madakeri.
ABOUT DISCOM The erstwhile Mysore State had the enviable and glorious position of establishing the first major hydroelectric generating station for commercial operations at Shivasamudra as early as 1902. The art at that time was still in its infancy, even in the advanced countries. The longest transmission line, at the highest voltage in the world, was constructed to meet the power needs of mining operations at kolar Gold Fields. Also in the year Sept, 1908 the world famous Mysore Palace was illuminated. It is one of the most magnificent buildings and is a sight not to be missed when it is illuminated on Sundays and festive occasions. In the year 1909, the power supply was arranged for 600 Street Lights and there were 617 consumers. The generating capacity of the Shivasamudra Power House gradually increased to 42 MW in stages. To meet the increasing demand for power, the Shimsha Generating Station, with an installed capacity of 17.2 MW, was commissioned in the year 1940. The power demand was ever on the increase, for industries and rural electrification, and additions to generating capacity became imperative. And there on many major generating stations like Mahathama Gandhi Hydroelectric station, Nagajari Power House,Supa Dam Power House, RTPS, etc., were established.The transmission and Distribution system which was in under the control of the GoK (then Mysore), was formed as MSEB in the year 1957 and the private distribution companies were amalgamated with KEB.Chamundeshwari Electricity Supply Corporation limited is a company incorporated under the company act 1956 and is a successor entity to Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited (KPTCL) and MESCOM in respect of Distribution and retail supply of Electric power for five districts. Its operation started from 01.04.2005 as per the GOK order E.N.08 P.N.R 2005/262.
L.J Avenue Commercial Complex,
New Kantharaj Urs Road,
Phone No:0821-2417104/110,
ERC NAME Karntaka Electricity Regulatory Commission

Other Discoms Belonging To Karnataka

Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (BESCOM)
Mangalore Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (MESCOM)
Hubli Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (HESCOM)
Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company Ltd.    (GESCOM)