Kerala State Electricity Board

DISCOM DESCRIPTION The Kerala State Electricity Board, constituted by the Government of Kerala, by order dated 7.3.1957, under the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1948 is in the business of Generation, Transmission and Distribution of electricity. KSEB distributes electricity in the State of Kerala except in the Thrissur Municipal Corporation and Munnar (Kannan Devan Hills). For operational conveniences the distribution wing is divided into three zones namely South, Central and North. The South zone is headed by Chief Engineer (Distribution South) with headquarters at Thiruvananthapuram and has 6 Electrical Circles, 19 Divisions (including TMR Divisions at Thirumala & Pallom), 58 Subdivisions, 177 Electrical Sections and a Regional Stores Division at Kundara. The Central zone has 7 Electrical Circles, 25 Divisions (including TMR Division at Angamaly), 75 Subdivisions, 230 Electrical Sections and a Regional Stores Division at Aluva. The Central Zone is headed by Chief Engineer (Distribution Central) and has its headquarters at Ernakulam. The North zone is headed by Chief Engineer (Distribution North) with headquarters at Kozhikode and has 10 Electrical Circles, 25 Divisions (including TMR Divisions at Shornur), 78 Subdivisions, 287 Electrical Sections and a Regional Stores Division at Kallai.
ABOUT DISCOM Kerala State Electricity Board Ltd (KSEBLtd) is a public sector agency under the Government of Kerala, India, that generates,transmits and distributes the electricity supply in the state. Established in 1957, the agency comes under the authority of the Department of Power.The Kerala state Electricity board started functioning under the direction of a newly formed Kerala government, on 31 March 1957.[1] The first governing body consisted of 5 members, and was headed by the Chairman K P Sreedhara Kaymal. The staff of the erstwhile Department of Electricity of the Thiru-Kochi state were transferred to the KSEB.the KSEB had an installed capacity of 109.5 MW, with a total annual internal generation of 441.35 MU. Over the years, as demand increased, the board has imported power from neighbouring states and private entities. The board also set up several more hydel power stations within the state. As of 2008, the KSEB Ltd has a total installed capacity of State to 2657.24 MW and a consumer base of over 91,59,399. As per the Central Electricity act 2003,KSEB was converted to Kerala State Electricity Board Limited in 2014. The original KSEB was dissolved and its assets and liabilities were transferred to the governmnt initially and then transferred to the newly formed company KSEB Limited Studies made by Electricity finance expert Dr D Shina in 2007 recommended retention of KSEB in Public sector.
HEAD OFFICE ADDRESS Kerala State Electricity Board,
ERC NAME Kerala Electricity Regulatory