Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.

DISCOM NAME Jodhpur Discom
STATE NAME Rajasthan
DISCOM DESCRIPTION Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd, (JODHPUR DISCOM) has been established under the Companies Act,1956 by Govt. of Rajasthan. The Jodhpur Discom has been created with the principal object of engaging in the business of distribution and supply of electricity in 10 districts of Rajasthan, namely Jodhpur, Barmer, Jaisalmer, Jalor, Sirohi, Pali, Bikaner, Ganganagar, Hanumangarh, and Churu. The area of operation of Jodhpur Discom is 182509 sq. km. And the population in this area is 153 lacs as per 1991 census. The power supply in the Jodhpur Discom is managed by 8 distribution circles i.e. Jodhpur City, Jodhpur Distt., Pali, Barmer, Bikaner, Hanumangarh, Shri Ganganagar and Churu.
ABOUT DISCOM The legislative Assembly of Rajasthan approved the Rajasthan Power Sector Reforms Bill (Reform Bill) on September 25,1999. The reform bill received the Presidential Assent on December 28,1999 and became effective from June 1, 2000. As the first initiative in implementing the reforms program, GoR established Rajasthan Electricity Regulatory Commission (RERC) in January 2000. The vertically integrated monopoly power utility RSEB was unbundled into new entities on 19th July 2000, based on functional specialization, namely: 1) Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited(RVUN), to operate and maintain the existing state owned power stations.2) Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Limited (RVPN), to undertake the function of transmission and bulk supply of electricity in Rajasthan and also own  the  rights in shared inter-state partnership projects.3) The distribution function was separated from RSEB and vested into three Distribution Companies, registered under the Companies Act namely, Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited, Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited and Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Limited.
Industrial Area,
Telephone No: 0291-2742229,
ERC NAME Rajastan Electricity Regulatory Commission

Other Discoms Belonging To Rajasthan

Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.    (Jaipur Discom)
Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.    (AVVNL)