Electricity Department, Manipur

DISCOM DESCRIPTION The EDM is responsible for generation, transmission and distribution of electricity in the State of Manipur, which has a total area of 22,347 Sq KM with its nine districts namely, Bishnupur, Churachandpur, Chandel, Imphal East, Imphal West, Senapati, Tamenglong, Thoubal and Ukhrul. Manipur occupies an area of great strategic importance in North East corner of India. Manipur is bounded by States of Nagaland in the North, Mizoram in the South, Assam in the West and sharing international boundary with Myanmar in the East. The total population of Manipur State is 27.22 lakhs as per 2011 census. EDM serves about 1.99 lakhs consumers of various categories. Per capita consumption is about 100 kwh for the year 2010-11.
WEBSITE URL http://manipurpower.nic.in/
ABOUT DISCOM The commissioning of the two sets of hydro electric generators having capacities of 100 KW and 56 KW at Leimakhong micro hydel station in 1930 by the then Manipur State Hydro Electric Board marked the beginning of the use of electricity in Manipur. The Royal palace and the main area of Imphal Town enjoyed Electricity generated from this captive hydel station. During the Second World War, two more Diesel Generating sets of 62 KW and 46 KW capacities were installed at the old Imphal Power House by the Armed Forces for electrification of Imphal and its suburbs. The capacity remained the same without further capacity addition till the end of the first Five Year plan (1951-56) of the post independence period. The second Five Year Plan (1956-61) however saw a significant change in the demand of power in the state. The demand had been growing rapidly due to social acceptance and the gradual wareness of the people towards the use of electrical power for different purposes. This had necessitated further addition in the generation capacity and it was accomplished with the installation of more DG sets of various capacities in and around Imphal. To evacuate the power generated from the captive mini hydel power station (100 + 56) KW at Leimakhong to specific load centres of Palace Compound and main bazar of Imphal, a 20 Km. long 11 KV line between Imphal & Leimakhong was constructed for the first time in Manipur in 1930. The state was then having 26 Kms. of 11 KV line and 45 Kms. of domestic lines to serve a few consumers in 7 villages/Leikais.
HEAD OFFICE ADDRESS Manipur Electricity Dept,
Governer Rd,
Paona Bazar,
Manipur 795001,
ERC NAME Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission