Explore Discoms Search for anything Related to Discoms!

West Bengal  State Discom List

WBSEDCL West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd. The Government of West Bengal has restructured the erstwhile WBSEB into two successor entities, namely West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Company Limited (WBSEDCL) and West Bengal State Electricity Transmission Company Limited (WBSETCL), under the ownership of the State Government. The two Companies started functioning from April 1, 2007. WBSEDCL provides power to 96% of West Bengal, catering to every sector — from ordinary villages to huge industrial units. It serves a customer base of more than 1 crore across West Bengal. The service network spans over 5 Zones, 17 Regional Offices, 53 Distribution Divisions and 464 Customer Care Centers. Meeting 80% of the state’s peak power demand, WBSEDCL has achieved a profit of Rs 95.13 crore (PAT) in 2010-11. To mitigate short power supply and being an environ-friendly corporate, WBSEDCL has set up Purulia Pumped Storage Project with a capacity of 900 MW hydel power.
CESC Limited Calcutta Electricity Supply Company Ltd. Starting as Indias first fully integrated electrical utility, CESC have been generating and distributing electrical power in Kolkata and Howrah since 1897. CESC is the sole distributor of electricity within an area of 567 sq km of Kolkata and Howrah serving 2.3 million consumers which includes domestic, industrial and commercial users. We own and operate four thermal power plants generating 1225 MW of power. These are Budge Budge Generating Station (750 MW), Southern Generating Station (135 MW), Titagarh Generating Station (240 MW) and New Cossipore Generating Station (100 MW). Almost 88% of our customers electricity requirement is met from our own generating plants, rest 12% of electricity is purchased from third parties. More than 50% of the coal requirement is sourced from captive mines. We own and operate the Transmission & Distribution system through which we supply electricity to consumers. This system comprises of 474 km circuit of transmission lines linking the Companys generating and receiving stations with 85 distribution stations; 3,837 km circuit of HT lines further linking distribution stations with LT substations, large industrial consumers and 9,867 km circuit of LT lines connecting the LT substations to LT consumers. CESC Limited is a flagship company of RPG Enterprises, one of Indias leading industrial houses.
Durgapur Projects Limited Durgapur Projects Limited
DPSC Ltd DPSC Ltd. Established in the year 1919, DPSC Limited has pioneered leadership with trust & confidence and has emerged as an esteemed Power company in West Bengal with a track record of performance in introducing state-of –the –art Power technologies. DPSC has over the years prioritized Generation, Transmission & Distribution of power within its command area in W.B. The Thermal Power Stations of the company are located at Dishergarh, Chinakuri, & Solar Power at Seebpore in association with West Bengal Green Energy Development Corporation Limited (WBGEDCL) The optimum thermal capacity enables the company to supply power at competitive tariffs to its consumers. Our Companys T&D loss is among the lowest in the country. DPSC Limited provides power to the Critical & Delicate industries like Collieries, Underground mines of Eastern Coalfields Limited where power failure or any sorts of interruption may create endanger, disaster situation and at this critical areas DPSC being the critical power provider has proved its reliability, confidence along with unique Service & Maintenance support. The year 1995 was an outstanding year for the Company where the prestigious "ET 500" published by the Economic Times ranked DPSC Limited as the top performer among Indias power supply and distribution companies. India Power Corporation Limited (IPCL), a holding Company of DPSCL started its journey in November, 2003, is in the business of Wind Power, Thermal Power, Hydel Power, Solar Power and Distribution of power across India.