Explore Electricity Act - Sections Search for anything related to Electricity Act!

Section No. 76 : Constitution of Central Commission

Sub Section Details
There shall be a Commission to be known as the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission to exercise the powers conferred on, and discharge the functions assigned to it under this Act.
The Central Electricity Regulatory Commission, established under Section 3 of the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998 and functioning as such immediately before the appointed date, shall be deemed to be the Central Commission for the purposes of this Act and the Chairperson, Members, Secretary, and other officers and employees thereof shall be deemed to have been appointed under this Act and they shall continue to hold office on the same terms and conditions on which they were appointed under the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998: Provided that the Chairperson and other Members of the Central ommission appointed, before the commencement of this Act, under the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998, may, on the recommendations of the Selection Committee constituted under sub-section (1) of Section 78, be allowed, to opt for the terms and conditions under this Act by the Central Government.
The Central Commission shall be a body corporate by the name aforesaid, having perpetual succession and a common seal with power to acquire, hold and dispose of property, both movable and immovable, and to contract and shall, by the said name, sue or be sued.
The head office of the Central Commission shall be at such place as the Central Government may, by notification, specify.
The Central Commission shall consist of the following Members, namely:- (a) a Chairperson and three other Members; (b) the Chairperson of the Authority who shall be the Member, exofficio.
The Chairperson and Members of the Central Commission shall be appointed by the Central Government on the recommendation of the Selection Committee referred to in Section 78.