Coal News We love to talk!

JUL 25 2013

Odisha to hold up approvals for de-allocated coal blocks

  • Economic Times, ET Bureau / Hyderabad
  • Created: Thu 25th JUL 2013

However, land acquisition proceedings will be allowed to continue since administrative approval has already been accorded

The Odisha government has decided not to grant approvals for acquisition of land in case of three de-allocated coal blocks in the state- Baitarani West, Mandakini-B and Naini.

In case of New Patrapada coal block, which was also de-allocated, land acquisition proceedings will be allowed to continue since administrative approval was given earlier. However, the land acquired by Odisha Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (Idco) will not be transferred till further orders. The coal block was jointly allocated to Tata Sponge Iron Ltd, Bhushan Steel, JSW Steel and SKS Ispat.

For de-allocated Utkal-D block, though the acquired land along with the alienated land has already been allotted to the joint venture company, Idco will not permit mortgage of the land by the company for any purpose. On dissolution of the joint venture company, OMC will continue to hold the land till further decision of the Government of India on the de-allocation issue.

The state government has also decided to move the Coal ministry again for allocation of these five de-allocated coal blocks in favour of state PSUs.

It may be noted, the Baitarani West coal block was jointly allocated to Odisha Hydro Power Corporation (OHPC) and two PSUs of other states - Gujarat Power Corporation Ltd (GPCL) and Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB). The Coal ministry on December 11 last year, had de-allocated the Baitarani west coal block in view of the unsatisfactory progress made in development of the coal mines and end-use plants.

The Naini block was awarded to two PSUs of other states- Gujarat Mineral Development Corporation (GMDC) and Pondicherry Industrial Promotion Development & Investment Corporation Ltd (PIPDIC).

OMC had won the Mandakini coal block jointly with Meghalaya Mineral Development Corporation (MMDC), Tamil Nadu Electricity Board (TNEB) and Assam Mineral Development Corporation (AMDC).


Gujarat Odisha Assam Meghalaya Tamil Nadu Kerala JSW Steel Ltd. Kerala State Electricity Board Bhushan Limited Coal Naini block State Electricity Board Tata Sponge Tamil Nadu State Electricity Board Public sector units Indus Gujarat Mineral Development Corp. Ltd JSW Steel Power Mandakini coal block Electricity India

Related News

  • Odisha raises electricity duty rate by 1% on industry  Read more
  • Bids invited for RIL`s MP gas pipeline  Read more
  • PMO steps in to give Dabhol Power Project a new lease of life  Read more
  • APPC for FY 2014-15  Read more
  • Delhi HC orders govt to resume gas supply to Deepak Fertilisers  Read more
  • International body pats India for its transition to combat climate change  Read more
  • Reality check! Peak power deficit in April-July at 0.9%, overall electricity deficit stood at 0.6%  Read more
  • Panel recommends green nod to NTPC's coal project in Orissa  Read more
  • No BSES loan, say REC & PFC, if subsidies stay  Read more
  • Ratnagiri Gas demerger: GAIL to own LNG terminal, NTPC to get power plant  Read more